Is this a bonafide hole-in-one?

This fall, Glen Simonson, of Chisago Lakes Golf Course, aced a par-3 hole on his home course in Lindstrom, Minn. Since he was playing a “one-man best ball” and it was his second ball that went into the cup, Glen wonders if his perfect shot was a bonafide hole-in-one? The Rules of Golf do not address the validity of making a hole-in-one, but there is an FAQ section on the USGA website that offers a … Continue reading

Tigergate — By The Rules

This past Saturday morning, the worlds of golf and sport came to a collective standstill as the Rules Committee at the Masters decided the fate of Tiger Woods. Would they? Could they? college essays for sale Did they dare disqualify him for violating a Rule that resulted in his signing an incorrect score card? There was a media frenzy with everyone having an opinion. Social media was alive with theories. Even the participants in the … Continue reading

Did Masters’ officials do right by Decision 33-7/4.5?

In assessing Tiger Woods a two-stroke penalty (for breach of Rule 26-1) rather than a DQ for signing an incorrect score card, did Masters tournament officials correctly invoke their right to waive a DQ penalty on the four-time Masters champion? Read the text of the official statement delivered by Fred Ridley, the chair of the competition committee: “Yesterday afternoon, the Rules Committee was made aware of a possible Rules violation that involved a drop by … Continue reading

Anchors Away: Golf’s Governors Pull Plug on Anchoring the Club

The R&A and the USGA (the game’s governing bodies) today announced a proposed rules change that prohibits anchoring the club in making a stroke. In a global news conference televised by the Golf Channel, the R&A’s Peter Dawson and the USGA’s Mike Davis explained that the rules-makers were seeing an increase in “the advocacy” of the anchored stroke at the elite amateur and junior levels, and that “in the best interests of the game moving forward,” it … Continue reading